As part of Mayor Joy Belmonte’s commitment to bring the Quezon City government’s programs, projects and services closer to the people, Action Offices will be established in each of the city’s six legislative districts.

Belmonte recently signed Ordinance No. SP-3000, S-2021 or the Quezon City District Action Office Ordinance, creating six District Action Offices and 42 co-terminous positions for their operation.

The Ordinance was proposed by Majority Floor Leader Franz Pumaren and Councilors Donato Matias, Eric Medina, Victor Ferrer Jr. and Bong Liban.

“Ito’y bahagi ng ating pangako at hangaring ilapit sa tao ang mga programa, serbisyo at mga proyekto ng lokal na pamahalaan,” said Belmonte, referring to her commitment to bring the City Hall closer to the people under her 14-point agenda.

“These District Action Offices will serve as the City Hall’s extension where people can bring all of their concerns and grievances for proper and immediate action,” she added.

Aside from bringing the city government services closer to the public, the Ordinance also mandates District Action Offices to provide immediate response to the needs and grievances of the residents.

They are also tasked to provide active, efficient and equitable government machinery at the lowest level, extend maximum service to the greater number of people and to engage the active participation of the private sector.

The District Action Offices are manned by co-terminous Action Officers, who will be appointed by the City Mayor.

Every District Action Office will also have one operations officer, one administrative officer, one administrative assistant, one administrative aide, one driver and one utility worker.

Belmonte has requested different department offices and units of the city government to assign their respective personnel in each of the six District Action Offices.

Among these departments are the Social Services Development Department, City Health Department, Office of the Senior Citizens Affairs, People with Disability Affairs Office, Tricycle Regulation Unit, Scholarship and Youth Development Program, Small Business Cooperative Development and Promotion Office;

Public Employment Service Office, Market Development and Administration Department, Department of Engineering, Parks Development and Administration Department, City Civil Registry Department, Task Force Solid Waste and Task Force Streetlights.