Triple tax relief await Quezon City-based businesses next year as the Quezon City Council approved three Ordinances providing them much-needed respite and room to recover from the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic.

One of the three Ordinances, City Ordinance SP-3067, S-2021 extends the deadline for the payment of business taxes, fees, and charges without surcharges or interest from January 20, 2022 (First Quarter) and March 20, 2022 (Second Quarter) to July 20, 2022.

“As the economy gradually opens, some businesses that are heavily affected by the pandemic are still struggling on their way to recovery and we, in the city government, want to help them in as many ways as we can, and passing this tax relief ordinance is just one of them,” Belmonte said.

The said ordinance aims to provide tax relief to business owners affected by the several lockdowns implemented during the community quarantine.

The City Council presided by Vice Mayor Gian Sotto also passed City Ordinance SP-3068, S-2021, which seeks to waive penalties, surcharges, and interest for unpaid business taxes for 2021 and prior years. It will cover all businesses that have failed to pay any business tax for 2021 and prior years.

This will allow tax payers to update their business tax and liabilities without incurring any penalties, interest and surcharge.

The third measure approved by the City Council, City Ordinance SP-3069 S-2021 will allow staggered settlement of outstanding business taxes up to a maximum of 12 months installment covering the year 2021 and prior years. Under the Ordinance, the City Treasurer is tasked to determine the manner or frequency of payment of outstanding tax balances.

“The Quezon City government recognizes the business owners’ financial sacrifices in order to keep their operations going, thus providing employment to QCitizens and residents of other cities and provinces who continue to depend on such businesses for their livelihood,” Majoriy Leader Franz Pumaren said.

All three ordinances were introduced by Councilors Franz Pumaren, Jun Ferrer, Eric Medina and Donny Matias, and co-introduced by other members of the Sangguniang Panlungsod.