The Quezon City Council has filed a resolution authorizing City Mayor Joy Belmonte to donate PHP 10,000,000.00 to 5th and 6th class municipalities that were heavily affected by Super Typhoon Odette (International Name: Super Typhoon Rai).

The amount will be equally divided among the 10 municipalities of Anahawan, Hinundayan, Libagon, Padre Burgos, Pintuyan, San Francisco, San Juan, San Ricardo, Tomas Oppus, and Limasawa in Southern Leyte. The municipalities were selected with the help of the DILG regional office.

Resolution No. SP 8797, S-21 was proposed by Majority Floor Leader Councilor Franz Pumaren, Councilor Donny Matias and Councilor Wency Lagumbay, and co-introduced by the other members of the Quezon City Council.

Councilor Pumaren stated, “This is our way of trying to show that Quezon City is willing to help out the municipalities that were badly damaged by Super Typhoon Odette.”

The City Mayor also issued a certificate of urgency for the immediate approval of the said measure, and expressed her sympathies to the families devastated by the typhoon.

“Kami po ay taos-pusong nakikiramay sa mga pamilyang lubhang naapektuhan ng Bagyong Odette, lalo na sa mga nawalan ng mahal sa buhay. Nawa’y magkaroon kayo ng lakas ng loob at katatagan sa krisis na inyong kinakaharap,” the mayor said.

The QC Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council earlier passed  Resolution no. 4 approving the release of the said amount to be sourced from the DRRM Fund.

The PHP 10 million financial aid from the Quezon City Government is apart from the PHP 100 million fund from the savings of the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority that Mayor Belmonte unanimously agreed with the other National Capital Region mayors to release for the assistance of the local government units affected by Super Typhoon Odette.